Update…with action shots!

Hey there! I won my match today 7-5, 6-2. Even though it was only a two-set match, it was a tough fight under really hot and sunny conditions…so I’m definitely glad I had my coconut water with me! (The absolute best hydrator in my opinion). After my match I got in a little bit of extra fine-tuning on court with my coach, Scott Lambdin in preparation for tomorrow’s match. Scott has been my coach since before I was 10 years old, so to say that he knows my game well is a bit of an understatement, LOL. As a player, it’s great to have a coach at tournaments with you…to have someone seeing how you perform under different types of conditions, scenarios, pressure, and how you respond to adversity on the match court is invaluable. Most of the time when you’re fully engaged in the match, emotions get in the way of being able to see the whole picture and find areas where you can improve. Scott sees the match from a different perspective, so I’m very lucky to have this privilege.

Tomorrow I play a girl who I’m very familiar with. I have played (and beaten) her once before in singles, and we have teamed up together in doubles a couple of times, not to mentioned multiple practice sessions together. I feel really good about tomorrow’s match and I’m hoping to go out there and really assert my aggressive game style right from the start.

After tomorrow’s match, we are planning on going to this local restaurant called The Remedy Diner.  I adore diners with their ridiculously long menus, big comfy booths, and feel-good food. I’m really excited to try The Remedy because it has a unique vegan-friendly menu of such diner staples as nachos, lasagna, burgers, and apple cobbler…all made vegan! Yay!!

I’ll let you know how it is!! 😉

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ALISON
    May 09, 2011 @ 22:22:15

    Great job,Alex–sounds like you played fantastic today. Keep it going tomorrow and move on in to main draw. Love these two photos as well!!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment